Did you know, currently if you purchase a new or used manufactured home and have it set-up in a non-inspected area you are still responsible to acquire a building permit from the State of Minnesota? When I ask this question, the answer is usually, I did not know that.
This law has been in effect for several years that the state of Minnesota requires your manufactured home to be set-up by licensed installers and inspections completed. The overall permit cost can range from $700-$1,400 depending on your area, number of inspections and size of project. These inspections cover items such as piers, anchoring, blocking and exterior steps.
The state of Minnesota takes this permit seriously and may fine those who don’t acquire one and may ask you to re-set your home with a certified installer. It can turn into a costly oversight.